Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: noob STB questions

  1. #1

    noob STB questions

    hey,

    i've recently gotten a second tivo without a pal tuner and i'm trying to decide whether i should put a pal tuner in or use a stb...

    i had a look around minnie and found some help on what STB to use and how to set them up but couldn't find any info about what the interface of using one is like.

    so my noob quest are:

    1- when watching tv, do you change channels with the STB remote or the tivo remote?

    2- do you see the current program guide when you press 'live tv' like you do when you use an inbuilt tuner?

    3- does the tivo sit on channel AV or does each STB channel come through on a different channel (like using a pal tuner)?

    4- do the shows still record with their program name and other info?

    anything else i should know?

    thanks for the help.

    A

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    Quote Originally Posted by amilgrom View Post
    1- when watching tv, do you change channels with the STB remote or the tivo remote?
    When you have a TiVo, you should never have to watch live TV. There should always be something recorded to watch so you can skip commercials.

    But to answer your question, once setup you put the STB remote away and never use it. Only use the TiVo remote, so you don't actually change channels while something is recording.

    Note When using a STB the channel changes are slower than the tuner. Which can be frustrating if you are a channel surfer, but like I said above once you get out of that habit it does not matter.
    Quote Originally Posted by amilgrom View Post
    2- do you see the current program guide when you press 'live tv' like you do when you use an inbuilt tuner?
    There is no difference.
    Quote Originally Posted by amilgrom View Post
    3- does the tivo sit on channel AV or does each STB channel come through on a different channel (like using a pal tuner)?
    Just like a tuner.
    Quote Originally Posted by amilgrom View Post
    4- do the shows still record with their program name and other info?
    No difference.
    Quote Originally Posted by amilgrom View Post
    anything else i should know?
    As far as the TiVo interface is concerned everything looks the same regardless of Tuner or STB.

    Peter
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  3. #3
    great!

    thanks so much for your help.

    A

Similar Threads

  1. Networking Noob please help.
    By camm91 in forum Australian TiVoHD
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-03-2010, 03:57 AM
  2. Noob experience with OzTiVo
    By nirving in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-09-2007, 02:35 AM
  3. twiki noob
    By variable in forum TiVo Twiki
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-05-2005, 09:36 PM
  4. TIVO noob help needed
    By megaman2k in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21-10-2004, 10:38 AM
  5. Noob Question about Remote IR codes and Strong STB's
    By hlouey in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17-05-2004, 08:08 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •