Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: ISP PAP modem fix

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Hamilton, NZ
    Posts
    196

    ISP PAP modem fix

    I finally got around to making a fix so tivo can connect to ISPs who don't support plain text authentication, and instead jump straight to a PPP session to authenticate using PAP (which seems to be a large number of the ISPs in NZ).

    Previously trying to connect would give a result in the tclient log like:
    Code:
    Sep 29 01:18:58 (none) comm[148]: Trying to connect
    Sep 29 01:19:12 (none) comm[148]: ATDTxxxxxxxx
    Sep 29 01:19:12 (none) comm[148]: CONNECT 19200/
    Sep 29 01:19:12 (none) comm[148]: Got a connection.
    Sep 29 01:19:12 (none) comm[148]: Trying to login
    Sep 29 01:19:24 (none) comm[148]: ModemImpl: EXP_TIMEOUT
    What this means is that tivo is waiting for the ISP to say in plain text "Login:". Because the ISP has already started PPP, the tivo never sees this string (instead it sees something like "~}#!}!} } }7}"}&} } } } }%}&}83jO}'}"}(}"}-}#}&~") and times out.

    This mod means that Tivo never tries to authenticate using plaintext, and instead immediately starts PPP once the modem connects. PAP authentication is done and the tclient log now looks like:
    Code:
    Sep 29 01:26:28 (none) comm[150]: Trying to connect
    Sep 29 01:26:41 (none) comm[150]: ATDTxxxxxxxx
    Sep 29 01:26:41 (none) comm[150]: CONNECT 19200/ARQ
    Sep 29 01:26:41 (none) comm[150]: Got a connection.
    Sep 29 01:26:41 (none) comm[150]: Trying to login
    Sep 29 01:26:41 (none) comm[150]: Login is complete.
    Sep 29 01:26:41 (none) comm[150]: Modem dialcode is 1
    Sep 29 01:26:41 (none) comm[150]: CallStatusReporter: Phase: Calling, Status In Progress
    Sep 29 01:26:41 (none) comm[150]: CallStatusReporter: sending message "CL|31"
    Sep 29 01:26:41 (none) comm[150]: CallStatusReporter: Phase: Start_PPP, Status In Progress
    Sep 29 01:26:41 (none) comm[150]: CallStatusReporter: sending message "ST|33"
    Sep 29 01:26:41 (none) comm[150]: Going to start pppd.
    Sep 29 01:26:41 (none) comm[150]: Pppd:Start: enter
    Sep 29 01:26:41 (none) comm[150]: Pppd::Start: fork()ed (pid = 178)
    Sep 29 01:26:41 (none) comm[150]: Pppd::Start: storing child pid as 178
    Sep 29 01:26:41 (none) comm[150]: Pppd::Start: waiting for PPP - 1
    Sep 29 01:26:41 (none) comm[178]: Pppd::Start: fork()ed (pid = 0)
    Sep 29 01:26:41 (none) comm[178]: Pppd::Start: spawning pppd on /dev/ttyDSS at 19200 baud
    Sep 29 01:26:44 (none) comm[150]: Pppd::Start: waiting for PPP - 2
    Sep 29 01:26:44 (none) comm[150]: Pppd::Start: exit (succeeded)
    Sep 29 01:26:44 (none) comm[150]: ModemImpl::enableLineStatusInterrupt: modem of type 6, lineStatusInterrupt DISABLED
    Sep 29 01:26:44 (none) comm[150]: CallStatusReporter: Phase: Start_Auth, Status In Progress
    Sep 29 01:26:44 (none) comm[150]: CallStatusReporter: sending message "ST|33"
    Sep 29 01:26:44 (none) comm[150]: CommUtil: connection to host 127.0.0.1, port 8000, err 0x0
    Hence it connects successfully and downloads

    How apply the patch:
    At your own risk - if you screw up the file chances are that your tivo will not boot properly and require reimaging the drive!

    UPDATE: The hack can be performed without having to copy the file to a PC. Instructions are further down this page Click Here!

    FTP into tivo and copy the file /tvbin/tivoapp to your PC. Open the file in a hex editor and change:
    Code:
    Address           From                        To
    0x5132A7          03 3F 20 01 DA 3F           00 3F 20 01 DA 3F
    0x5133AF          00 80 01 00 34 7C           01 80 01 00 34 7C
    save the file as tivoapp.isp Note if the values shown here do not match then it is possible you have a different version of the file to mine - DO NOT CONTINUE!

    Telnet into tivo and run the command (make the filesystem read/write)
    Code:
    rw
    FTP your tivoapp.isp file to /tvbin/tivoapp.isp
    In the telnet session type:
    Code:
    cd /tvbin
    mv tivoapp tivoapp.bak
    mv tivoapp.isp tivoapp
    ro
    reboot
    You can now connect to your ISP assuming you have already setup the modem (especially the files /etc/ppp-options and /etc/pap-secrets) as described in the oztivo wiki

    Comments/suggestions welcome
    Last edited by catdog; 17-04-2007 at 05:35 PM. Reason: Added link to easier to follow instructions

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    Thanks for your work on this, I'm sure it will be handy for many people who still use dialup.

    I have corrected the wiki link in your post as the tag and name were reversed, so the link did not work.

    I also added a link back here from the wiki.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Hamilton, NZ
    Posts
    196
    Thanks for fixing up the link and linking back petestrash.

    I'm not sure if there will be much demand for this fix, but it might be worth making a script to run on the tivo to automatically apply the patch?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    463

    Tips

    Hi, thanks for working out how to do this! Now I can use (Dad's) very cheap dialup (E3.net.nz) instead of expensive Paradise dialup. I have a few tips for people.

    If you are using dialup you probably wont have a network card and therefor no FTP. You will need to enter the following commands in Tera Term via a serial link instead. commands are in bold. lower case is important.

    rw
    cd /tvbin
    cp tivoapp tivoapp.bak
    stty speed 57600
    then change the speed in TeraTerm; 'Setup' menu, 'Serial port...', 'Baud rate' to 57600. Otherwise it will take forever to transfer the file at 9600. You could try 115200 instead but it will probably fail during file transfer.
    sz tivoapp then in Teraterm go to 'File' menu, 'Transfer', 'ZMODEM', 'Receive...'. The file will by default be copied to your TeraTerm folder.
    Edit it with a hex editor, as described by catdog, then copy it back:
    rz In TeraTerm 'File' menu, Transfer, ZMODEM, Send... and browse to the file you edited called tivoapp.isp. After 10min or so the file will hopefully have got to 100% and finished.
    rm tivoapp
    mv tivoapp.isp tivoapp
    chmod 755 tivoapp
    otherwise gets stuck at bootup screen.
    Now edit ppp-options chap-secrets pap-secrets tclient.conf with the ISP phone number, user name and password, as described here http://minnie.tuhs.org/twiki/bin/vie...thBuiltinModem.
    ro
    reboot


    I guess I won't need the Terbonet cards I'll be building in two weeks...just kidding.

    I'm running 3.0 v1.4 but will be upgrading to NZv1.6 soon to fix having to reboot to index guide data, and seasons-passes and browse-by-title not working.
    Last edited by Skolink; 07-11-2006 at 07:19 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    58
    Will the mod'ed tivoapp also work for ISPs that just use plain text [login] authentication?

    I assume that we need to FTP tivoapp in binary mode (right?).


    Also, it would be good to list the ISPs that do/do not need the mod'ed tivoapp.

    A start (prefixed by country):

    * tivoapp mod not needed:
    NZ-PlaNet
    NZ-xtra (needs confirming?)
    NZ-paradise.net (needs confirming?)

    * tivoapp mod needed:
    ?
    Last edited by mpnash; 29-03-2007 at 11:07 PM.
    Philips TiVo Series 1, Turbonet, 320GB, oztivo 1.6.2, NZ Emulator (8000), Akl Sky Digital Satellite

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    58
    Just found some related info at this post:
    http://forums.oztivo.net/showthread.php?p=10110
    which suggests that the mod works for many NZ ISPs.
    Last edited by mpnash; 16-04-2007 at 08:18 PM. Reason: wrong link
    Philips TiVo Series 1, Turbonet, 320GB, oztivo 1.6.2, NZ Emulator (8000), Akl Sky Digital Satellite

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Hamilton, NZ
    Posts
    196
    Quote Originally Posted by mpnash View Post
    Will the mod'ed tivoapp also work for ISPs that just use plain text [login] authentication?
    This mod bypasses the plain text login procedure - if your ISP only needs a plain text login then there is no need to implement this mod as the standard tivo files can handle that ok.

    On saying this, an ISP which does plain text (eg xtra) will almost certainly also support PAP if the tivo initiates it, so the mod should not break anything.

    Quote Originally Posted by mpnash View Post
    I assume that we need to FTP tivoapp in binary mode (right?).
    Yes, it is a binary file. Also make sure the new file on the tivo is executable as Skolink pointed out (chmod 755 tivoapp) - the FTP program may do this for you automatically.
    Quote Originally Posted by mpnash View Post
    Also, it would be good to list the ISPs that do/do not need the mod'ed tivoapp.

    A start (prefixed by country):

    * tivoapp mod not needed:
    NZ-PlaNet
    NZ-xtra (needs confirming?)
    NZ-paradise.net (needs confirming?)

    * tivoapp mod needed:
    ?
    The trouble is that ISPs tend to change things with out telling anyone (and windows machines dont need to be reconfigured after each change so most people dont notice).
    Quote Originally Posted by mpnash
    Just found some related info at this post:
    http://forums.oztivo.net/showpost.ph...0&postcount=14
    which suggests that the mod works for many NZ ISPs.
    Yep - works on every NZ isp I have tested: slingshot, e3, xnet, xtra.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    58
    For info, it turns out that NZ Xtra *requires* catdog's tivoapp fix (thanks mate!). I also tried maxnet, which did not require the tivoapp fix.
    Philips TiVo Series 1, Turbonet, 320GB, oztivo 1.6.2, NZ Emulator (8000), Akl Sky Digital Satellite

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Hamilton, NZ
    Posts
    196

    Perform hack on tivo without copying to PC

    To make things easier (and quicker over a serial connection) the hack can be done without having to copy the file to PC.
    Use at your own risk.
    The commands to enter are in bold. Make sure the filesize is reported as 6575372 after entering the first command before continuing with the remaining commands.

    Code:
    [TiVo [p0] ~]# ls -al /tvbin/tivoapp
    -rwxrwxr-x   1 0        0         6575372 May 30  2002 /tvbin/tivoapp
    [TiVo [p0] ~]# rw
    File system is now READ/WRITE.
    [TiVo [p0] ~]# cp /tvbin/tivoapp /tvbin/tivoapp.isp
    [TiVo [p0] ~]# echo -ne "\x0" | dd conv=notrunc of=/tvbin/tivoapp.isp bs=1 seek=5321383
    1+0 records in
    1+0 records out
    [TiVo [p0] ~]# echo -ne "\x1" | dd conv=notrunc of=/tvbin/tivoapp.isp bs=1 seek=5321647
    1+0 records in
    1+0 records out
    [TiVo [p0] ~]# mv /tvbin/tivoapp /tvbin/tivoapp.bak
    [TiVo [p0] ~]# mv /tvbin/tivoapp.isp /tvbin/tivoapp
    [TiVo [p0] ~]# chmod +x /tvbin/tivoapp
    [TiVo [p0] ~]# ro
    [TiVo [p0] ~]# reboot
    If you experience problems, make sure your ISP details are correctly set in the following files (the installer cd should do this for you if the modem option was selected):
    /etc/tclient.conf - telephone number
    /etc/ppp-options - username
    /etc/pap-secrets - password
    Details can be found in the oztivo wiki
    Last edited by catdog; 17-04-2007 at 05:50 PM. Reason: Added other file details

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    51
    Hi Catdog. Great job on making it easier to do.
    Could you just confirm the image version you are doing this to - I suspect it will be included in the next image, and may have already been included in the ozTivo image.

    US Phillips HDR112 TIVO, TurboNet, PAL Tuner, 80gb HDD. Work, Fun.

Similar Threads

  1. Getting the internal modem working
    By zollymonsta in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18-05-2009, 05:56 PM
  2. Using the modem
    By bigmal in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 17-04-2007, 08:17 PM
  3. Dial Up Modem
    By JECastor in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 21-03-2007, 06:21 PM
  4. Internal Modem on 2.5.5.
    By wrayr in forum General Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-10-2004, 05:36 AM
  5. Tivo Modem
    By timmy in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 14-04-2004, 07:24 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •