Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 567
Results 61 to 70 of 70

Thread: TivoWebPlus testers

  1. #61
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032

    Testing TivoWebPlus in Shanghai.

    Since this forum is about TivoWebPlus testing, I thought I'd drop a photo showing testing in Shanghai.

    Peter
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  2. #62

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by thomson View Post
    The "Web Remote" module will not appear if the Tivo software version is greater than 3... you can check the version via the info module (the value of Software System).

    Thank you very much for the reply. Info module shows two different types of version: "Software System" and "Kernel Information Version ". Please see copy/paste of the info below. The thing is that WebRemote worked fine with TivoWebPlus 1.21. But I like OzTivoWebPlus much more.

    Thank you.

    ============================
    TiVo Box Information

    Software System: 4.0.1b.2003.12.02-1731-01-2-240
    Service Number: 2400000E074CC03
    System Type: United States Series 2 Stand-Alone
    Tuner Count: 1
    Remote Address 0
    Uptime 6d 3h 04m 32s
    Current Temperature: 42C / 107.6F
    Network Information
    TiVo Address: 192.168.101.5
    Remote Client Address: 192.168.101.101
    HTTP Host Address: tivo

    TivoWebPlus Distribution
    Version 1.3.0 (oztivo-060821)
    (include output from distribution check)

    Kernel Information
    Version 2.4.18
    Compile #38 Thu Oct 23 10:48:29 PDT 2003

  3. #63
    And this is my "TivoWebPlus Distribution" version.

    ===================================
    TivoWebPlus Distribution
    Version 1.3.0 (oztivo-060821)

    ./tivoweb.cfg differs from the distribution
    ./bin_ppc/find was not included in the distribution
    ./bin_ppc/SendKey was not included in the distribution
    ./images/backdoorbutton.png was not included in the distribution
    ./images/altbootbutton.png was not included in the distribution
    ./images/brownbutton.png was not included in the distribution
    ./images/bootbutton.png was not included in the distribution
    ./images/conflictbootbutton.png was not included in the distribution
    ./images/bufferbutton.png was not included in the distribution
    ./images/greenbutton.png was not included in the distribution
    ./images/killbutton.png was not included in the distribution
    ./images/nobootbutton.png was not included in the distribution
    ./images/rebootbutton.png was not included in the distribution
    ./images/xPluszbutton.png was not included in the distribution
    ./images/redbutton.png was not included in the distribution
    ./modules/hackman.ini was not included in the distribution
    ./modules/hackman.cfg was not included in the distribution
    ./modules/higuide.cfg differs from the distribution
    ./modules/bufferhack.itcl was not included in the distribution
    ./modules/hackman.ini.last was not included in the distribution
    ./modules/displaytext.itcl was not included in the distribution
    ./modules/folders.itcl was not included in the distribution
    ./modules/hackman.itcl was not included in the distribution
    ./modules/livetv.itcl was not included in the distribution
    ./modules/xPlusz.itcl was not included in the distribution
    ./modules/xboxtv6.itcl was not included in the distribution
    ./modules/displaytext.readme was not included in the distribution
    ./modules/hackman_bak.cfg was not included in the distribution
    ./modules/hackman_bak.ini was not included in the distribution
    ./bin_mips/sendkey was not included in the distribution
    ./bin_mips/find was not included in the distribution
    ./backups/channelprefs_save was not included in the distribution
    ./backups/settings was not included in the distribution
    ./reorder.js was not included in the distribution
    ./stderr was not included in the distribution

  4. #64
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    Quote Originally Posted by fmark View Post
    Thank you very much for the reply. Info module shows two different types of version: "Software System" and "Kernel Information Version ". Please see copy/paste of the info below.
    You are using a series 2 machine running Software System: 4.0.1b.2003.12.02-1731-01-2-240.

    Thomsons current version of twp uses a version of sendkey for the remote module which is not compatible with software higher than 3.1.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  5. #65

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by petestrash View Post
    You are using a series 2 machine running Software System: 4.0.1b.2003.12.02-1731-01-2-240.

    Thomsons current version of twp uses a version of sendkey for the remote module which is not compatible with software higher than 3.1.

    Peter.

    So my last question. Is there any way to make the RemoteControl module working with this version of TWP ?

  6. #66
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    477
    Quote Originally Posted by fmark View Post
    So my last question. Is there any way to make the RemoteControl module working with this version of TWP ?
    I don't know of any version of TW or TWP whose Web Remote module will work on Series 2 software. The problem is that there is no event handler or "sendkey" facility on this software. I know some people are looking into using routerplus to hopefully solve the problem.

    Without an event hander or sendkey facility it's not going to be possible to get the Web Remote or Phone modules working on the Series 2 software.

  7. #67

    Thumbs up

    I've got it working !

    1.
    I made some changes to the webremote.itcl module.
    I replaced version checking code (at the end of the file) :

    if {$::version <= 5} {
    register_module "sendkey" "Web Remote" "A Web-based Remote Control for your TiVo"
    }

    2.
    created "devbin" directory in the Tivo root. And placed "sendkey" file in there. Made sure that it is executable : chmod 755 sendkey

    3.
    Reload TWP.

    It works great ! Thanks again for the help.

    I attached "webremote.itcl" and "sendkey" file in case somebody would need them.

    Mark.

  8. #68
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    I've just tried your suggestions on a TiVo also running 4.01b.

    While it does actually control the TiVo, if you browse any menu below the TiVo Central menu it drops back to live TV very quickly.

    But for skipping ad's it's fine.

    Do you also have this behaviour?

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  9. #69

    Lightbulb FYI: fairyland.css

    Just started using TWP. Not sure if it's is a good thread to post this but... i built a new theme/stylesheet last night which is available here:

    http://www.studioahoy.com/clients/twp/fairyland.css

    It may not function appropriately for advanced users, but it's tested in Safari 2.0.4...!

    (Drop in /var/hack/TivoWebPlus/Themes/ and full restart TivoWebPlus or reboot Tivo.)

  10. #70
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    477

    Testers for v2.1.0 required

    While changes/fixes are still being applied to TivoWebPlus v1.3.1 the majority of development is directed at a much changed v2.1.0. It includes things such as pulldown menus (there is even a menu editor to make it easy to customise menus).

    It would be much appreciated if people could play with the new version while there is momentum to update/fix it. There are three main people now working on the v2.1.0 distribution - BTUx9 (who has turned the whole thing into dynamically loaded modules to make it perform well on the DirecTV units), SteveT (who has been revamping the User Interface with CSS and customisable pull down menus) and myself (general bug fixes and feature requests). Once the momentum dies down it will take longer to get fixes implemented and tested on all the different hardware. We currently have 60+ people downloading and testing the latest releases, but the majority of these are in the US and hence are not running Series 1 v3.0/2.5.5 hardware.

    The distribution can be found on the website. The best place to post feedback/requests is the v2.1 support forum
    Last edited by thomson; 23-11-2007 at 06:04 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. lost TivoWebPlus again!
    By pipster55 in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23-11-2010, 11:33 AM
  2. TIVOWebPlus not starting
    By jamesljm in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 23-02-2008, 05:47 PM
  3. TiVoWebPlus 1.3.1 suggestions
    By petestrash in forum Software Upgrades/Mods
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 20-11-2007, 07:37 PM
  4. tivowebplus
    By ccalabro in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14-09-2005, 11:04 PM
  5. TivoWeb vs TivoWebPlus
    By lagomatic in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-05-2005, 10:19 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •