PDA

View Full Version : Wellington Newbie

bigmal
21-03-2006, 11:17 AM
Hi,

I'm a newbie who's dead keen to get into the whole tivo thing and have a couple of questions before I start.

1 - Does the nz tivo operate in a similar fashion to that in the US and UK? ie. can you make wishlists that record everything to do with your favourite actor or choose a tv show and tell the tivo to record it forever?

2 - Is there a difference between hardware manufacturers of tivo's? Is a sony tivo better than a thompsons or phillips?

3 - Is the idea of running tivo in NZ as cool as I'm hoping it'll be? My goal is to get a better alternative to MySky which I believe to be a ripoff.

Thanks in advance.

P.S. If anyone in Welly wants to demo their tivo I'd be happy to drive anywhere (locally) to see it.

bigmal
21-03-2006, 11:46 AM
Ooops forget question 1 I founnd the answer to that and now I'm keener than ever.

4 - How stable is nz tivo when it's all up and running? Does it require regular care? I already get my girlfriend calling me when I'm out saying she can't get the tv/video to work etc and if the nz tivo is unstable the phone calls will escalate :-)

zollymonsta
21-03-2006, 12:12 PM
Welcome!

1/ Yes, not really any different at all.

2/ UK tivos mean you can use the internal tuner as well as the a/v in jacks.
I believe they also have scart inputs/outputs so it's possible maybe to get a better quality picture. USA tivos are more affordable but have internal tuners that are NTSC. Whilst these can be replaced with PAL tuners, so far our NZ Nicam cannot be decoded. Most likely you will use a Sky box anyway, so this wont matter.

3/ No Comment :)

Hi,

I'm a newbie who's dead keen to get into the whole tivo thing and have a couple of questions before I start.

1 - Does the nz tivo operate in a similar fashion to that in the US and UK? ie. can you make wishlists that record everything to do with your favourite actor or choose a tv show and tell the tivo to record it forever?