PDA

View Full Version : Comparision to "My Sky"

gurti
31-10-2005, 08:59 PM
Hi... I'm a newbie to all this. But how does this method of setting up your own TiVo from imported overseas parts compare to the new "My Sky" service now being offered by Sky NZ?

It's avertising claims to have the same funtionality as overseas formats like US TiVo, UK Sky+ and Oztel IQ... does it?

The service starts in December 2005 in NZ, it will cost $500 and they substitue the decoder you have with their new one which is supposed to record 60 hours. Will it be worth it?

Thanks

Gurti

zollymonsta
31-10-2005, 09:00 PM
One thing straight away that springs to mind.. with TiVo you can extract the recordings... also, you can skip the ads on TiVo (30 second skip).

gurti
31-10-2005, 09:06 PM
In their FAQs they say you can extract recordings to DVD or PC... but they dont say anything about auto 30secs skips for ads, but that u can fast-forward them in the usual way

brucer
01-11-2005, 05:45 AM
Hi Gurti,

1. My sky is direct digital recording so both picture and sound quality will be much better than Series 1 Tivo.
2. My Sky has two tuners so you can record one thing while watching another or record 2 programmes while watching a 3rd recorded program.
3. So long as TV1,TV2 and TV3 continue to supply sky with guide data their program guide will almost certainly be better (more reliable) than ours (but note if you read their FAQ they say something like "At the moment" they have access to TV1 and TV2, if they lost this access things would not look so good)
4. "30 second skip" is not a whole lot better than just fast forwarding at maximum speed (ie it's not an "intelligent" ad skip function), both Tivo and My Sky let you fast forward thru add breaks.

If I didn't already have a Tivo I wouldn't think twice.. I'd get "My Sky" (I may do at some point anyway for the 2 tuners and digtal quality).

SeanOffShotgun
01-11-2005, 09:09 AM
Hmmm...