PDA

View Full Version : Tivo for Dummies

contactsmyth
17-01-2005, 11:13 AM
Ok so im new to this ... and I need to know ...

1. how does this TIVO box physically download the data for the TV guide ... now what does it do ? through a phone connection ? does it dial something ? do I need to set up an internet connection for it ? can it work through a network ?

2. how does it talk to the foxtel digital box ?

how well does this fit in to Aust Standards ? like are people having troubles , is their anyone who can be called to halp with an installation ? any gurus ? anyone who knows how a dummie could do this ? like ... give me some insight

is there anyone out there who is or was in the same position as me ?

Darren King
17-01-2005, 12:15 PM
Welcome to the world of TiVo.

Usually a good read of the basic FAQ areas would help here, but instead I'll try to help a little first...... so here it goes:

how does this TIVO box physically download the data for the TV guide ... now what does it do ? through a phone connection ? does it dial something ? do I need to set up an internet connection for it ? can it work through a network ?
Natively it downloads via an ethernet card called a Turbonet or a Cachecard. For this you will (generally) need a broadband connection. You can also do it via the internal modem or if you are keen via the serial port on the back of the TiVo. By far most people use the ethernet option as it "dials" without the need for a phonecall and is usually automatic without your intervention.

2. how does it talk to the foxtel digital box ?

By something called an "IR Blaster". These are nothing more than an infrared transmitter on a lead. You put this in front of the Foxtel STB IR receiver and the TiVo emulates the channel change commands for your Foxtel box.

how well does this fit in to Aust Standards ? like are people having troubles

By "standards" I assume you mean PAL? If so then a Series 1 TiVo handles PAL recording and playback no problems.