PDA

View Full Version : Is "Network Remote Control" Available on OZ TivoHD?

StutsmanSoft
23-01-2009, 12:58 AM
I'm an American software developer who has created a remote control app for the iPhone. It works by using a telnet interface on port 31339 of the Tivo.

I was dismayed to see one user report that the application did not work on his Australian unit.

Can someone confirm that the telnet interface (activated with Network Remote Control) exists on on Australian unit?

I am happy to give some free copies of the application (DVR Remote) to people who help me troubleshoot this issue.

If the telnet interface just doesn't exist, I will remove my app from the Australian App Store.

Thanks!

petestrash
24-01-2009, 12:51 AM
No it is not in the current software.

From memory it was only made available around V9.1

Peter.

StutsmanSoft
24-01-2009, 12:53 AM
Thanks Peter,

I have removed DVR Remote from the Australian App Store as a result and will resubmit it at such a time as it will actually work for people.

My apologies to the Australian TiVo community for the mixup on my part!

StutsmanSoft
05-05-2009, 10:58 AM
Hi Guys,

I had a customer inquire about DVR Remote for Australia - have they added the Network Remote Control feature to your firmware yet?

I'm eager to throw the Aussie switch once they do!

petestrash
05-05-2009, 11:21 AM
No, it is still not enabled and may never be as Creston is not locally supported here.

Peter

micknews
10-06-2009, 09:35 AM
Hi Peter & Stutsman,

I for one would love to be able to use the DVR remote on my iPhone, and being a bit cheesed off with the way the Tivo is hobbled here except for Really useful things like "Ordering a Pizza" and Listening to some crap Radio breakfast show on the Tivo!! (Sarcasm intended!) I wrote to Tivo Customer Support. I include the text of the email here......

"There is a great iPhone app called DVR remote which I would love to take
advantage of but it requires the Network Remote Control Menu item which