PDA

View Full Version : Absolute Beginner

DaveHollinshead
13-06-2004, 10:38 PM
Hi Everyone,

I didn't know anything about TiVo until I came across the OzTiVo page by accident. That was on Thursday, by Friday I had been emailing with George and now my unit is ordered and should be delivered once the hard drive brackets come into stock :) .

As a Linux virgin, I was wondering a couple of things.

I have a 120 gb Seagate that I use as an external drive for my Windows machine, can I use this drive in my TiVo? I have read somewhere about a signature being written to the drive if it is connected to a Windows machine. Will the current image override this?

Is there any thing I can do with the drive before the unit arrives? I know I can load the image onto the drive, but is there anything else I can do?

I can see that this is going to be an interesting project and I hope I can rely on this forum and the mailing list for advise and help during the tricky stages.

I'm sure I'll be back :D

Dave

DavidSymons
14-06-2004, 12:25 AM
Hi Everyone,
Hi (fellow) Dave,

I didn't know anything about TiVo until I came across the OzTiVo page by accident. That was on Thursday, by Friday I had been emailing with George and now my unit is ordered and should be delivered once the hard drive brackets come into stock :) .
Ahh. TiVo-itis. Fast onset too. Know it well. It gets worse. No cure :) .

I have a 120 gb Seagate that I use as an external drive for my Windows machine, can I use this drive in my TiVo?
TiVo's require a Parallel ATA drive. If your external case is connected by USB/Firewire it's most likely to be PATA but if it's a Serial ATA (SATA) drive it won't work. If it's a SCSI case then it won't work in the TiVo.

Some more info regarding drives can be found here:

http://minnie.tuhs.org/twiki/bin/view/FAQ/WhichTypeOfHDD

I have read somewhere about a signature being written to the drive if it is connected to a Windows machine. Will the current image override this?