PDA

View Full Version : Help with setting up wireless bridge

Newbie95
11-05-2007, 07:44 PM
Hi There,

I am a complete newbie, but and I am trying to hook up my tivo to my wireless network using the following:
- Series 1 Philips Tivo
- Turbonet card
- Wireless bridge (Linksys WET54G)
- Mac Computer (OS X)

At present I have plugged my ethernet cable from my tivo/turbonet card into the wireless bridge, but have no idea if that is connecting to my network, as my macintosh computer doesn't run the CD that came with the bridge. Any suggestions?

Also, can someone please explain to me the concept of tivoweb? Is it an interface between my computer and tivo? I imagine that I will have to solve the problem above before I can sort this out though.

petestrash
12-05-2007, 04:24 AM
Think of tivoweb as a webserver that runs on the TiVo. Just enter the TiVo's IP into a browser and it will load the TW homepage.

In your description you only list one wireless device, the bridge the TiVo is plugged into. What is at the other end of the wireless link to send/receive the signal to/from the bridge ?

Has you tested the TiVo with a direct crossover cable between the Mac and TiVo?

Peter.

Newbie95
12-05-2007, 12:05 PM
Sorry, I should have given a bit more background. I have had the tivo up and running before, when it was connected via an ethernet cable to the turbonet card (this was to test that it worked, which it did, but obviously this tied up my internet!).

My wireless internet is achieved through a siemens speedstream DSL modem (optusnet) and my wireless router is an apple airport express.

Basically at the moment, my tivo will pause and rewind live tv, but cannot record anything as there is no data (as it hasn't been able to dial up to get the information). So I know my tivo works as long as I can connect it to the internet.

Hope that gives a bit more insight. Thanks!

petestrash
13-05-2007, 09:50 PM
When you setup the TiVo did you give it a static IP or is it set to DHCP.