PDA

View Full Version : TIVOWebPlus not starting



jamesljm
01-01-2007, 04:41 PM
I cannot get TIVOWebPlus to start.

It was working previously but after a recent hanging, it no longer starts.

I can ftp and telnet to OZTivo on 192.168.0.200 (DHCP) but do not have web access

Here are some of the information requested in other posts related to TIVOWebPlus problems

Thanks for any help
================================================== ====

[TiVo [p0] /etc/rc.d]# ls -l
total 79
-rwxrwxr-x 1 0 0 1776 Feb 28 2002 finishInstall.tcl
-r-xr-xr-x 1 0 0 4177 Nov 4 07:53 rc.arch
-rwxr-xr-x 1 0 0 3739 May 24 2005 rc.arch.original
-r-xr-xr-x 1 0 0 2993 Dec 22 23:33 rc.net
-rwxrwxr-x 1 0 0 187 Jan 26 2005 rc.net.airnet
-rwxr-xr-x 1 0 0 267 Jan 26 2005 rc.net.airnet.static
-rwxrwxr-x 1 0 0 188 Jan 26 2005 rc.net.cachecard
-rwxr-xr-x 1 0 0 188 Jan 26 2005 rc.net.cachecard.static
-rwxrwxr-x 1 0 0 200 Jan 7 2004 rc.net.tivonet
-rwxrwxr-x 1 0 0 196 Jan 26 2005 rc.net.turbonet
-rwxr-xr-x 1 0 0 246 Jan 26 2005 rc.net.turbonet.static
-r-xr-xr-x 1 0 0 160 Nov 3 23:48 rc.ppp
-r-xr-xr-x 1 0 0 23283 Nov 25 21:37 rc.sysinit
-r-xr-xr-x 1 0 0 4670 Nov 9 03:19 rc.sysinit.author
-r-xr-xr-x 1 0 0 4643 Dec 26 01:36 rc.sysinit.author.backup
-rwxr-xr-x 1 0 0 3056 Apr 14 2005 rc.sysinit.noservices
-rwxr-xr-x 1 0 0 19083 May 24 2005 rc.sysinit.orig


ftp://192.168.0.200/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit.author


#### OZTIVO-SPECIFIC TOOLS ####
# $Revision: 1.6 $
#
# DON'T EDIT THIS FILE! To control what is run by this script, create
# a file called /etc/sysinit.conf, copy the relevant "enable" lines from
# /etc/dflt_sysinit.conf into /etc/sysinit.conf, and change them to be
# "YES" or "NO" as required.

# Load default parameters and any overrides and network parameters
. /etc/dflt_sysinit.conf
. /etc/sysinit.conf
. /etc/oztivo.conf

export MY_SERVER=10.0.0.1
export NFS_SERVER=$MY_SERVER
export SMB_SERVER=$MY_SERVER
#export TIME_SERVER=$MY_SERVER

# Use extra libs (termcap, etc)
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/hack/lib

#### Mount Network Shares #######

# mount NFS shares (if you have them) Change the NFS_SERVER variable above to the ip of box with share
#insmod -f /lib/modules/nfs.o
#mount -t nfs -o rsize=8192,wsize=8192 ${NFS_SERVER}:/home/tivo /hack/nfs

# Mount shares on your windows boxen.
# This doesn't work too well.
# insmod -f /lib/modules/smbfs.o
# smbmount //${SMB_SERVER}/SHARE /hack/smb -s putrename -c tivo -I x.x.x.x -U user -D WORKGROUP -P password

#### Start Programs ######

# CCXSTREAM - stream to XBOX
# google for ccxstream or search forums at xboxmediacenter.de
if checkyesno ccxstream_enable; then
ccxstream &
fi

# Start Cron
# Edit /hack/etc/crontab to configure it
if checkyesno cron_enable; then
cron &
fi

# Start FTP daemon
# This is ADH's (from Deal Database) version that saves you from chmod +x
#
if checkyesno tivoftpd_enable; then
tivoftpd &
fi

# Start TiVoWeb or TivoWebPlus
if checkyesno tivoweb_enable; then
if [ "$tivoweb_version" = "PLUS" ]; then
/hack/TivoWebPlus/tivoweb &
else
/hack/tivoweb-tcl/tivoweb &
fi
fi

# Autospace.tcl
if checkyesno autospace_enable; then
/var/hack/autospace/autospace.tcl
fi

# Vserver - Stream ty files on port 8074 see tivo-mplayer.sf.net
if checkyesno vserver_enable; then
/devbin/vserver > /dev/null 2>&1 &
fi

# EndPad
# If you want to edit the start and end times,
# do so in /hack/endpad-1.5.1/endpad.config
if checkyesno endpad_enable; then
/hack/endpad-1.5.1/endpad.tcl -auto -config $endpad_configfile >> /dev/null &
fi

##### Various Other Hacks #######

# Tweak HDD settings
# Don't worry if you don't have a two drive TiVo, it will work for
# 1 drive setups too.
# Make certain runideturbo=false is in boot params, or rename
# the file /lib/modules/ideturbo.o to something else so it doesn't load.
hdparm -c1 -m8 -M1 -S0 /dev/hda /dev/hdb
hdparm -m16 /dev/hda /dev/hdb

# Copy Module
# copies anything written to /var/packages to /tmp
# very useful for capturing tivo slices.
if checkyesno copymod_enable; then
insmod -f /lib/modules/copy.o
fi

# Emu Proxy
# A tool for cleaning up the HTTP output by the Tivo in order to pass through
# transparent proxies, etc.
# Works in conjunction with a small hack to the emulator to accept the header
# "TivoURLBase" which is the base url to give back to the Tivo when specifying
# data paths.
# Runs by default and is dependent on the
# 127::127.0.0.1:8000:::
# entry in tclient.conf
# IF YOU COMMENT THIS OUT SO IT DOESN'T RUN, YOU MUST EDIT THE "127" entry
# in /etc/tclient.conf to reflect the IP and port of the emulator you are using
# There is a backup of the original here: /etc/tclient.conf-oztivo

if checkyesno emuproxy_enable; then
if [ "$emuproxy_version" = "2" ]; then
# Run emuProxy2
# Usage: %s [-d] [-h] [-l localport] [-L listenAddr] [-s serverip]
# [-p serverport]
/hack/bin/emuProxy2 -s 131.244.9.101 -p $emulatorport &
fi

if [ "$emuproxy_version" = "3" ]; then
# Run emuProxy3
# Usage: %s [-d] [-h] [-l localport] [-L listenAddr] [-s serverip]
# [-p serverport]
/hack/bin/emuProxy3 -s 131.244.9.101 -p $emulatorport &
fi

if [ "$emuproxy_version" = "ZA" ]; then
# Run emuProxyZA
# You can change the emulator name/port in /etc/oztivo.conf
# For other config changes, do them in /hack/etc/emuProxyZA.conf
/hack/bin/emuProxyZA -s $emulator -p $emulatorport &
fi
fi

# Report IP - Handy for those not using DHCP-DNS functionality
# set dhcp hostname in /etc/dhclient.conf
# See http://www.isc.org/ for more info on DHCP and BIND
if checkyesno report_ip_enable; then
report_ipaddress &
fi

# Trickey by Kevin Lentin provides a way to force tivo to
# run commands by assign remote key sequences. Very Cool!
# check out /hack/bin/trickey.README
if checkyesno trickey_enable; then
trickey &
fi

# Run the k9tivo NTP broadcast client
if checkyesno k9tivo_enable; then
k9tivo &
fi

# Run the bufferhack program to increase the live TV buffer size
if checkyesno bufferhack_enable; then
bufferhack32a.tcl $bufferhack_size &
fi

pjpete
02-01-2007, 01:04 AM
I actually noticed the same thing happen to mine, just out of the blue it stopped working, so I changed my author file to just have the startup command. For some reason it doesn't appear to be doing the check properly.

Change as below for immediate fix, but this will have to be looked at by the guys because it's not the right thing to do. . .

# Start TiVoWeb or TivoWebPlus
#if checkyesno tivoweb_enable; then
# if [ "$tivoweb_version" = "PLUS" ]; then
# /hack/TivoWebPlus/tivoweb &
# else
# /hack/tivoweb-tcl/tivoweb &
# fi
#fi

/var/hack/TivoWebPlus/tivoweb &

petestrash
02-01-2007, 11:41 PM
While your hack may work, it defeats the purpose of /etc/sysinit.conf.

Also your hack will be overwritten once you use the upgrade script.

We no longer make any changes to rc.sysinit.author

check to see the contents of /etc/sysinit.conf or if it doesn't exist look at /etc/dflt_sysinit.conf.

You should have a couple of lines like:
tivoweb_enable="YES" # Start TivoWeb or TivoWebPlus:
tivoweb_version="PLUS" # Set to "" for TivoWeb, or "PLUS"

If using TivoWebPlus.

Peter.

jamesljm
03-01-2007, 10:21 AM
There is no /etc/sysinit.conf and the lines are correct in /etc/dflt_sysinit.conf

I have looked at both these files using Putty to telnet. When I open them using Joe, they are opened in Read Only mode.

Darren King
03-01-2007, 12:01 PM
Correct. The TiVo filesystem is read only. To make it read/write you have to issue the command rw and remember to put it back into read only when finished with the command ro

pjpete
03-01-2007, 01:10 PM
check to see the contents of /etc/sysinit.conf or if it doesn't exist look at /etc/dflt_sysinit.conf.

You should have a couple of lines like:
tivoweb_enable="YES" # Start TivoWeb or TivoWebPlus:
tivoweb_version="PLUS" # Set to "" for TivoWeb, or "PLUS"

If using TivoWebPlus.

Peter.

Yep, those lines exist, and are correct, without the .author file modified mine never starts at all. However I will just create a .conf file and have the startup line put in, wasn't aware that the upgrade script over writes it.

jamesljm
03-01-2007, 01:11 PM
Thanks Darren

The files all look to be intact and correct. The TivoWeb.Log appears to be fine
===
TivoWebPlus - v1.3.1 (1.3.1 (oztivo-061025))
The program comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.
This program is licensed under the GPL.
See the 'docs/copyright' and 'docs/index.html' files
for copyright and credit information.
PoolSize=2916352
Loading modules...
ChannelMap
backup
channelgrid
channelprefs
confresManual
debug
displaytext
extract
favicon
folders
gallery
gdchecker
higuide
index
-initializing logo index
-initializing channel table
--caching 11 channels for source of type=5 (CableBox)
--fully processed 11 of 11 channels for source of type=5 (CableBox)
-initializing genre table
-initializing now showing cache
-initializing season pass cache
info
lj_utils
logos
logs
mail
manrec
merge
mfsbrowser
mrv
netconfig
phone
reorder
resources
Loaded 89 resource definitions
rss
sched
screen
script
search
sysadmin
theme
ui
update
webremote
whatson
wishlists
xlist
{more}
Accepting Connections
===

and when I do a 'ps ax' I don't see TivoWebPlus
===
[TiVo [p0] /hack/TivoWebPlus]# ps ax
PID TTY STAT TIME COMMAND
1 ? SW 0:00 init
2 ? SW 0:00 (kflushd)
3 ? RW 0:11 (kswapd)
49 ? SW 0:00 (shondss.sh)
51 S3 SW 0:00 (bash)
61 ? S 0:00 update (bdflush)
72 ? S 0:09 syslogd -p /var/dev/log -m 10000
74 ? SW 0:00 klogd
75 ? SW 0:00 (tnlited.sh)
78 ? RW 0:03 /sbin/tnlited 23 /bin/bash -login
89 ? SW 0:24 /tvbin/switcherstart -m -F
91 ? S 3:59 /tvbin/mfsd
93 ? S 0:00 fancontrol
124 ? SW 0:00 (mcp)
141 ? SW 0:00 tivoftpd
142 ? S 0:00 cron
158 ? SW 0:10 PipeListen
159 ? S 0:32 Mcp event
160 ? SW 0:00 (tcphonehome)
164 ? SW 0:00 (tcphonehome)
165 ? SW 0:09 PipeListener
167 ? S 0:01 /var/hack/autospace/osdcons
168 ? S 0:00 PhoneHome event hd
179 ? R 0:49 tivosh /var/hack/autospace/autospace.tcl BG
183 ? SW 0:00 (emuProxyZA)
185 ? S 0:00 trickey
201 ? S 0:08 /tvbin/tivosh /hack/endpad-1.5.1/endpad.tcl -auto -config /h
203 ? S 0:00 (dhclient)
204 ? S 1:06 /tvbin/dbgc-mcp
205 ? SW 0:10 PipeListener
206 ? R 0:04 /tvbin/myworld
207 ? SW 0:01 FsMpStream
208 ? SW 0:05 PipeListener
209 ? SW 0:05 TmkSinkMixAud
210 ? SW 0:43 TmkClipCache0
211 ? S 0:32 TmkClipCache1
212 ? R 33:40 TvMomCs22Sink
213 ? SW 0:00 (myworld)
214 ? R 0:14 Mediaswitch0
215 ? R 0:05 TvVideoManager
216 ? R 0:55 TvRecorder
217 ? S 0:31 TmkTaskManager
218 ? S 17:24 Scheduler
219 ? S 11:04 Prioritizer
220 ? S 0:11 EventLog event
221 ? R 0:02 PvrMain
222 ? SW 0:00 (myworld)
223 ? R 11:51 ContextMgr eve
372 ? SW 0:01 tivoftpd
423 ? SW 0:00 tivoftpd
424 p0 SW 0:00 /bin/bash -login
439 p0 RW 0:00 ps ax
===

Darren King
03-01-2007, 02:24 PM
Maybe the CrashCount file shows a figure greater than zero which can cause TiVoWEB+ not to start.

Try entering this command from a telnet session:

echo 0 > /hack/TivoWebPlus/.dist/CrashCount

That should reset CrashCount back to zero. Then reboot the TiVo and see what happens.

jamesljm
03-01-2007, 03:51 PM
Thanks

That fixed it

thomson
03-01-2007, 03:55 PM
Maybe the CrashCount file shows a figure greater than zero which can cause TiVoWEB+ not to start.

Try entering this command from a telnet session:

echo 0 > /hack/TivoWebPlus/.dist/CrashCount

That should reset CrashCount back to zero. Then reboot the TiVo and see what happens.

This issue was fixed a few revisions ago, new distributions of TWP v1.3.1 can be found at http://beam.to/TWP

dyrplq
06-01-2007, 06:58 AM
I'm having the same issue. When I try to manually start TivoWebPlus I get this msg;

Warning: The last few sessions did not complete successfully
We may be in a reboot loop... abort

If I follow the previous instructions in this thread (echo 0 > /hack/TivoWebPlus/.dist/CrashCount then restart) TivoWebPlus does start up but next day is not working again.

I am automatically power resetting the Tivo everyday (as I have occasional freeze issues). Would this be causing the crash count to increase thereby stopping TivoWeb from starting?

petestrash
06-01-2007, 12:07 PM
As Thomson said in the previous post, he has fixed the crash count issue. Just update to the latest version.

download the new file from Thomson's googlepages (http://thomson.tivo.googlepages.com/tivowebplus) then use the update feature in the 'more' menu of TWP to upgrade it.

Peter.

dyrplq
06-01-2007, 12:36 PM
Thanks Peter, I did do this last week when the solution was posted but am willing to try again. :o

petestrash
06-01-2007, 03:39 PM
Check /var/tivoweb.log after trying to start TWP and see what errors are shown, and to confirm you are starting the right version.

Peter.

taimou
03-02-2007, 09:50 PM
Quote:
This issue was fixed a few revisions ago, new distributions of TWP v1.3.1 can be found at http://beam.to/TWP

:confused: I am running V1.3.1 had the problem and the echo 0 > /hack/TivoWebPlus/.dist/CrashCount command fixed it.

petestrash
04-02-2007, 02:04 AM
Unfortunately Thomson doesn't bump his version numbers very often.

The v1.3.1 title has been used for around 6 months now. but there have been 20-30 releases since then. Each with small bugfixes and minor enhancements.

From memory the crashcount issue was fixed in one of the late Dec/Early Jan releases. There have been 3-4 more releases since that time. The current release is 3rd of Feb.

Check your info window in TWP for the date of your current release. If it is before mid January you may still have crashcount issues.

Peter.

thomson
04-02-2007, 08:59 PM
Unfortunately Thomson doesn't bump his version numbers very often.

Yeah... decided that it would be better to just increase the version number when new functionality was added. Although the real reason was that there were a few months where I was updating the package just about every night (which is why I ended up going with a "dated" version number in the YYMMDD format)... and bumping the version number means we would have been up to v16+ by now :)

petestrash
04-02-2007, 09:32 PM
Could be bumped to 1.3.450 :) Just use the last set of numbers as a build number. No limit to the number of digits used till your ready to go to 1.4

Peter.

daggo
04-02-2007, 11:06 PM
up to v16+ by now :)

Call the next version vista :D

oscarg
03-02-2008, 07:58 AM
Maybe the CrashCount file shows a figure greater than zero which can cause TiVoWEB+ not to start.

Try entering this command from a telnet session:

echo 0 > /hack/TivoWebPlus/.dist/CrashCount

That should reset CrashCount back to zero. Then reboot the TiVo and see what happens.

Darren King.
Yet again you have saved me.
I would never have worked this out.
This was happening on a oztivo I set up for some friends, and I just could not work it out (although the error Paraphrase ".. won't start.. maybe in a reboot loop.." was a hint.
You deserve a medal for your efforts.
Thanks mate
R.

thomson
21-02-2008, 11:56 AM
Might be a good idea to place the last release of the TivoWebPlus v1.3.1 software on the OzTivo image so that systems will be updated with all the latest bug fixes.

The v1.3.1 bundle is very stable now and is unlikely to be updated much more (other than major bug fixes) as we are getting very near to releasing v2.2.

TivoWebPlus bundles can be found here (http://thomson.tivo.googlepages.com/tivowebplus).

petestrash
21-02-2008, 01:08 PM
TWP 1.3.1 from about January last year is currently in our rsync respository.

We are overdue a new ISO, but travel has kept me from putting time into it.

I was hoping though to add V2.x to the next release.

But it's still not good enough.

I have issues with uptime and some of the modules not working.

Eg. clicking on a series [Version 2.1.b3 (oztivo-080119)] brings up:


-------INTERNAL SERVER ERROR------ --cut here--action:series, path:/360733, env:, code:'NONE'
can't read "title": no such variable
while executing
"string toupper $title"
("uplevel" body line 15)
invoked from: "uplevel $body"
invoked from: "transaction {uplevel $body}"
(procedure "RetryTransaction" line 5)
invoked from: "RetryTransaction {
if {$TmsId==""} { set hastms 0
} else {
set hastms [MfsFind /Recording/TmsId 0]
if {$hastms} {
if {[mfs size $hastms]<8} {set TmsId..."
(procedure "MOD::action_series" line 17)
invoked from: "$cmd $chan $path $env"
--cut here--

Peter.

thomson
23-02-2008, 12:27 PM
TWP 1.3.1 from about January last year is currently in our rsync respository.

I was just thinking that the rsync repository could be updated so that people could use the update facility to get the latest release. Seems that a few people have been running into issues that were resolved a while back.


I was hoping though to add V2.x to the next release. But it's still not good enough. I have issues with uptime and some of the modules not working. Eg. clicking on a series [Version 2.1.b3 (oztivo-080119)] brings up: <snip>


Hehe... that release is more than a month old now :) The series should be fixed in the later distributions. The v2.1 stream is definitely development at the moment, but BTUx9 is currently looking at tidying up the release so that we can push out a v2.2-stable release.

If possible we may wish to install both (I use /var/hack/TivoWebPlus/v1.3 and /var/hack/TivoWebPlus/v2.1) and give the users the option of which one to run.

petestrash
23-02-2008, 05:47 PM
I'll look into updating.

The version in rsync does have the update feature. The main issue is the old version still on the install CD and not enough people run the update_oztivo routine once installed, despite it being in the instructions.

I hope to have time to make a new ISO in the coming months. I will probably replace the current tivoweb/tivowebplus options with v1.3/v2.2 option.

Peter.

P.s v2.1r080211 still had the series bug, but just downloaded 080223 and it's fine.