PDA

View Full Version : Problems with Guided Setup

Charlie
28-05-2004, 08:28 PM
I have had my Tivo for just over a week now and have tried everything to get it up and running. (I am a Tivo and Linux newbie - haven't hacked anything seriously since Dos 6.22)

I started with the " NZ TiVo Newbie? Start Here..." thread (thanks Jaidev and Tim) and managed to get the oztivo 3.1 image on and successfully networked it.
Then I tried the loadguide instructions (hadn't seen that the emulator was available). After editing and running all the tcls as per Tim's "Tivo Howto" I could not get past the Guided Setup. (I expected the Tivo to boot up and bypass the dial up because I read:

> Note that you don't need to do anything with the OzTivo guided setup
> onscreen because this is targeted for automating the setup to the OzTivo
> Service Emulator"
The Tivo insisted that I go through GS and then failed to connect.

Anyway, I eventually noticed the "Emulator available" thread (thanks Ed) so I re-imaged the disk (in case I had accidently hacked it to bits) and I followed Ed's instructions.

Again the Tivo fails to connect with the message "Failed. Service unavailable"

From the tivo I can successfully ping 66.238.88.163.

A few other things I have noticed that may be important:

When I select "Logs" from the Tivo Web I get:

INTERNAL SERVER ERROR
--cut here--
action_logs '/' ''
no files matched glob pattern "/var/log/O*"
while executing
"glob "$TIVO_ROOT/var/log/O*""
(procedure "::action_logs" line 20)
invoked from within
"::action_$action $chan $part $env"
("eval" body line 1)
invoked from within
"eval {::action_$action $chan $part $env}"
--cut here--

...before the list of logs displays.