PDA

View Full Version : OzTivo Image V1.5 - rc.sysinit.author



argo
07-05-2006, 08:13 PM
I have being trying to get the Trickey program to work on V1.5 and can't seem to get it to perform a function following remote key-presses.

In trying to figure this out I note that the rc.sysinit.author file (as I understand it the file that 'starts' the Cron & Trickey applications) has the following entries (this is only a fragment of this file):

#### Start Programs ######

# CCXSTREAM - stream to XBOX
# google for ccxstream or search forums at xboxmediacenter.de
#ccxstream &

# CRON # Edit /hack/etc/crontab
cron &

# Trickey by Kevin Lentin provides a way to force tivo to
# run commands by assign remote key sequences. Very Cool!
# check out /hack/bin/trickey.README
trickey &

Shouldn't the line:
"trickey &"
not be:
"/hack/bin/trickey &"?

And similiarly for:
"cron &"?

In other word shouldn't there location be specified?

I'm on a steep learning curve, so it may be obvious!

thomson
08-05-2006, 05:01 AM
In other word shouldn't there location be specified?

While it is best to put the full path in to make it clear what is being run it is not necessary. In the instance where no path is given most operating systems will search for the executable using the PATH environment variable, and run the first match it comes across.

This is likely to be set in one of the startup scripts, you can search for it by doing a "grep PATH= /etc/rc.d/rc.*". To display the current setting you can use "echo $PATH". You will find that many of the system "bin" directories will be specified in this "search path".

A quick example would be: If PATH=/usr/bin:/usr/local/bin:/var/hack/bin, and the command "cron" was issued, then it would first try /usr/bin/cron, then /usr/local/bin/cron and finally /var/hack/bin/cron. If non of these matched then it would return with an "unknown command" error.

Hope this helped.

argo
08-05-2006, 04:28 PM
Thanks thomson, reminds me of DOS batch programming - so PATH would explain, why cron (which did not have a path specified either) worked last night (carrying out a daily_call).

This means I need to look elsewhere for my non-functional trickey! Has anybody else had problems getting this to work?

petestrash
08-05-2006, 09:41 PM
If you try ps ax you can see if trickey is running.

There is a known error in the IP display code of /hack/etc/trickey.conf (CLR should be CLEAR). See KnownIssuesCurrentImageRelease (http://minnie.tuhs.org/twiki/bin/view/Install/KnownIssuesCurrentImageRelease)

There are only 3 tricks loaded (and only 2 work till you fix the above).


# This one will force a daily call
DailyCall CLEAR,LIVETV,CLEAR 3 /hack/bin/forcedailycall.tc
l &
# This one will display IP address of TiVo
ShowIP CLEAR,NUM1,CLR 2 newtext2osd -s 15 -t "`ifconfig $
DYNAMIC_NET_DEV | sed 's/.*addr:\([0-9.]*\).*/\1/;t;d'`"
# This will set TiVo in to Maintenance Mode on next reboot
MaintMode CLEAR,NUM9,NUM1,CLEAR 3 /hack/bin/set_maintenan
ce_mode.sh &


Peter.