PDA

View Full Version : PAL mod from Darren King

andrew
11-05-2004, 05:26 PM
G'day thought I'd just let you know that I got my PAL kit from Darren King. He's a top bloke so if you want one, get on to him at www.kingey1971.com

Hope it's ok to post this Darren :confused:

Andrew

Darren King
20-08-2004, 06:09 PM
Yeah no problems :)

BadaBing!
04-07-2005, 09:20 AM
How much does a compatable pal tuner cost? I ca install it myself. Is there any on the market I can desolder and solder onto the tivo?

Darren King
04-07-2005, 09:26 AM
Full costs and descriptions are on my website in my signature. You are quite welcome to get me to do all the work or do it yourself as per the wording on the website.

Professor Yaffle
13-06-2007, 08:13 AM
I have been looking into the PAL mod, and I am no expert with hardware mods (I am more of a software guy) but I am trying to understand how and have a couple of questions. Specifically regarding the mono mod.

1. Why does the audio output have to be connected directly to the Micronas Chip? Isn't tuner pin 21 is audio output on both the NTSC an PAL tuners, how do things differ such that audio needs to be patched directly to the Micronas chip?

2. Is it necessary to lift Micronas pins 56 and 57 from the board to attach the audio cable? What would happen if you connected it without lifting and using just an single capacitor?

3. This is where my lack of electronics knowledge becomes really apparent :), but what is the purpose of those inline capacitors?

Obviously things have been done the way they have for good reasons, I am just curious... Apologies if these questions have been answered elsewhere.

Cheers

Darren King
13-06-2007, 09:45 AM
1. Why does the audio output have to be connected directly to the Micronas Chip? Isn't tuner pin 21 is audio output on both the NTSC an PAL tuners, how do things differ such that audio needs to be patched directly to the Micronas chip?